Expat Tales

I moved to Vienna Austria from Mullumbimby Australia exactly 4 years and 7 months ago and 3 days. Actually I don’t know how many days it has been. I made that bit up. But I know it has been  4 years and 7 months.

Mullumbimby Australia is a 10 minutes drive to the well-known town of Byron Bay. Byron Bay if you will imagine is like any hippie counter-culture town you can think of. Think  VW vans, hash cookies, drumming circles and beautiful beaches. And there is no 2 locations more unlike than Byron Bay, Australia to Vienna, Austria.

Degi Hari

Mullumbimby Markets

I was fortunate to have an EU passport. So I had no stress, pressure or paperwork to do in preparation to come here. In fact I don’t remember really thinking it over too much at all. I was bored in my job and thought that a European chapter of my life seemed glamorous and would work well in my future memoir .

IMG_0565.jpg

Byron Bay Beach Bum

I was too busy assembling and packing my European wardrobe to actually consider the reality of living overseas in a non-English speaking country.  I thought I would pick up the German language like a savant, mind you having never spoken a 2nd language in my life.

Degi Hari

Mullumbimby Music Festival Australia

I Imagined I would land a well-paying glamorous job almost immediately. Eat macaroons all day. I would sip coffee in sidewalk cafe’s. Carry a baguette at all times. I think I thought I was moving to France instead of Austria.

img_6269

The things we do for love. Vienna Austria.

I considered Austria & France in my limited knowledge of European geography like close neighbors with the cultural differences of say Melbourne to Sydney. I pictured myself riding a cute bicycle with a wicker basket over the border to France for some Camembert cheese or to Holland to pick up some tulips. Only to realise they don’t even border Austria. I joke (a little)

img_2388

Christmas markets Vienna

The only thing I do remember considering was how cold it was going to be. And how I could look cute – taking my style from laid-back beach bum to European urban winter. Some may call it shallow or stupid. I like to call it impulsive and style orientated.

IMG_1848.jpg

Macaroon filled days

Obviously it all didn’t turn out exactly like that. Because life doesn’t seem to turn out exactly how you imagine it. But 4 years 7 months and x amount of days later I am still here in Vienna, Austria. Some-days I feel like I am really killing it and loving it. Some days barely holding on, cursing all Austrians and the culture.

img_3888

Old and beautiful everything

There are many tips and tricks & tales on how to survive or be an expat. But I will start with this solid gold nugget of advice. If you are considering moving abroad for an unknown amount of time. Please think & consider things carefully. Things like culture shock, jobs, language barriers & climate changes. Vitamin D deficiencies.

I learnt the hard way that these are critical things you should perhaps plan for. Before selling everything you own and jumping on an air-plane. It may save you some heartache or rude reality type slaps to the face later on.

Or just say F^&k it and jump on a plane because life is all a gamble. And you got roll the dice sometimes and sing Kenny Rogers songs on the way to airport. More expat tales to come.

PS – Never take my advice. As you have just read above I am not one for careful well prepared thoughts.

PPS- Or alternatively do the opposite of what I would do and you should have an awesome well prepared balanced life.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Expat Tales

  1. anjage says:

    So true… Moving to new place is always a journey into unknown and dangerous lands…
    After 7 years 3 months, 4 countries, 2 continents and many spontaneous decisions I still didn’t find my place, but I wouldn’t take back any spontaneous and irresponsible decision to move from one place to another… possibly in a future I will make such again 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. andreea00 says:

    I am currently in the same situation you once were. I’m about to move to Vienna in a few months and keep getting my hopes up, thinking about finding a good job and a nice apartment in a cool area. I just hope I will be able to handle everything and not get too dissapointed. On the other hand, I’ll be leaving eastern europe, so it can’t be worse than here :)))
    I’ve just found your blog and I’ll probably read every post now 🙂 you are very funny. Keep up the great work!

    Like

      • andreea00 says:

        Oh, I’m definitely working on that! I can’t really afford taking classes now, but I’m trying to do my best with duolingo and listening to deutsch online radio as much as possible.
        I’ve found a lot of events in vienna for language tandems, for example. Those might help you a bit.
        I hope you will overcome this issue soon 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.