Give Me Sugar

As far back as my brain can remember I have been a super fiend of sugar. My grandparents owned a sugar cane farm so maybe it was born into my blood. Growing up they would supply us with 10 litre containers full of raw brown sugar. Although I can’t remember first trying sugar I knew I wanted it constantly.

Around the age of ten I would sneak into the kitchen and eat a teaspoon of raw sugar when my mother wasnt looking. It was like I needed a hit. Like a crack head  with a pipe. I loved the buzz and the way the sugar would dissolve in my mouth.

Like most kids I spent all my allowance at the candy shop. My sister would save up her allowance. Bue me – I would blow every cent of mine immediately on jaw breakers, gummi bears, lollipops, pixie sticks & pop rocks and chocolate. And eat it all at once and then run around bouncing off walls in a sugar crazed frenzy.

IMG_0648.jpg

The thing is most children do this at some point and then one day they eat too much candy then they get a bellyache. This teaches them a valuable lesson to show restraint with candy for the rest of their lives. That a little sweet is good. Too much sweet is bad.

I didn’t seem to ever learn this lesson. Yes I got the bellyache, maybe I took a twenty minute break for it to settle and kept on eating more candy. Heck I’d even eat more candy thinking perhaps these sour worms may help with the cramping.

IMG_1061.jpg

While in highschool I got a part-time job in a video store. Remember those? The store had a self-serve candy bar. And that is the sole reason I was motivated to ever go to work. I would sneak sweets all shift long and then spend half my pay on a bag to reward myself for a job well done. I worked there for four sugar filled years very happily.

IMG_3753.jpg

In my early thirties I needed a lot of  tooth fillings.I spent a small fortune at the dentist. Did that curb my candy chocolate, cake or cookie addiction? Not one bit. I  even sometimes fantasize about owning my own candy shop. My favorite movie was Willy Wonka. There isn’t a candy or a cookie I havent tried. I have jumped up and down and screamed when my dutch licorice I ordered online arrived. Because they don’t sell it here. I would snort sherbet over cocaine any day.

IMG_2176.jpg

I also like to bake sweet things. Hell I did a post here on Austrian candy. Screw the Schnitzel pass me the Milka. Suffice to say “That I like my sugar “is a massive understatement.

But something shifted in me the last few months. Did I find myself not craving sweets?  NO. Not at all. I found myself slowly wanting more and more sweets. I would only eat a small dinner with no joy, just so it could be time to eat ten Oreos. Real food or savoury food started to lose its taste and I went completely off salad. Which I have always loved eating.

So I decided I really didn’t want diabetes . That unfortunately I am no longer 10 or 18 or even 28 years old. And I can’t eat ever day like I have been invited to a children’s birthday party. Without serious consequences. And possible obesity.

IMG_9645.jpg

So I quit refined sugar. No cookies. No cakes. No candy. No chocolate. It’s been almost a week. I nearly killed a few people. I had a headache for two days  straight and felt like shit. But by day four I was feeling good and imagining myself model skinny.

I havent been perfect. I still have 1 teaspoon of sugar in my coffee and I ate 3 mini cookies. I drank wine because I am not  a nun and cold turkey may send my body into a coma.

I also ate fruit. But mostly snacking on nuts and seeds and some dried fruit to curb the cravings. All of a sudden I am super interested in what’s for dinner! And my cravings are becoming smaller. I have been eating everything else that’s  non sugar and not limiting my food intake. But it took a while to realise those after dinner sweet cravings actually had zero to do with hunger. And everything to do with sugar and blood levels.

So far so good. I havent killed anyone and I haven’t broken out my emergency gummi bears that  I have hidden in the back of the pantry.  And I am feeling proud. Because will power and limiting myself does not come naturally to me.

So wish me non sugar luck and I will keep you posted on my progress.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Give Me Sugar

Leave a Reply

